CrazyKinux has a Blog Banter challenge: The Ladies of New Eden:

What could CCP Games do to attract and maintain a higher percentage of women to the game. Will Incarna do the trick? Can anything else be done in the mean time? Can we the players do our part to share the game we love with our counterparts, with our sisters or daughters, with the Ladies in our lives? What could be added to the game to make it more attractive to them? Should anything be changed? Is the game at fault, or its player base to blame?

Here’s what I think….

I am all male (last time I checked). I do not know of any females who play EVE. So, my insight into the female gamer is limited. When CK came up with this challenge, I asked around my office. Unfortunately, none of my female coworkers play any online game. They’re that lame.

Then it hit me: Second Life. There are more females that you can shake a stick at. I downloaded the client, figured out my old id and password, and logged on.

And I started asking. I knew some folks on there, so I talked to them first. Why Second Life? The answer they gave can be pretty much summed up like this:

  • Creativity. There is a vast array of self expression, from creating clothes and such to designing scripts. Photoshop power!
  • Community and friendship.
  • Ability to do anything you want
  • Romance

I don’t play WoW or any other games, so I will have to use the SL sample to formulate my thoughts.

  • Allow for player created items to exist. Paint schemes for ships? Icarna may be a better fit for this as uniforms, clothing, scripts and such can be created and sold for the station walking experience.
  • In Incarna, have player owned stores, clubs, etc.
  • In SL, you can start creating right away, as the creation is really outside of the game. Fast-track skillsets not related to pew-pew or mining may be in order.
  • I don’t like this suggestion, as it is core to EVE: Soften TFU. Space is harsh, and it is one of the reasons why I like it. However, the biggest complaint I heard from those who knew about EVE or had tried it was that, well, EVE’s a bitch.
  • Romance? Um…no. Surprise buttsecs still should be a gank. Maybe something like a matchmaking service. Corps of Love.
  • LOLcats and Smurfs. Incorporate them somehow.

Really, I don’t believe there is much hope for transplants from Second Life to EVE. Maybe those who get WoW would like EVE. I doubt it, though. WoW seems to be full of goblins and elves and such, which is right up the fantasy aisle. And don’t get me started about vampires. Jeez. Maybe a Nosferatu module could be some sexy misunderstood hunk?

No.

Here are some other folks’ thoughts on this:

  • The Ladies of New Eden
  • Is EVE a man’s world?
  • Sorry, No Pink Spaceships Here Please
  • EVE Blog Banter: Chicks ‘N Ships
  • Eve Blog Banter: The Girls Who Fly Spaceships
  • It’s not about fluffy bloody Kittens people!
  • Space Boobies Are Bad, m’kay?
  • Special Blog Banter: I Like Girls
  • Special Edition or making Eve More Casual
  • I wish my wife played EVE
  • Is there something special about women?
  • CK’s Blog Banter
  • The Female of the Species
  • EVE Online Can Appeal to Women By Adding Casual Content
  • Blog Banter: The Ladies
  • Women Who Want EVE
  • Tech 2 stilettos
  • New Eden doesn’t need to change for Eve – Adam needs to get over himself
  • EVE Online and… women (sorta)
  • Think Outside the Spaceship
  • EVE’s monthly banter – Women, women, women
  • Girls Just Wanna Have… Guns!
  • Draco Horizons (Blog) 
  • Don’t change Eve for me!
  • Where Are Teh Laydeez of EVE?
  • Where Are All The Wenches?
  • EVEquality: The Rise of the Female Gamer
  • Women? In MY SPACESHIP? Is she from Mars as well?
  • Blog Banter: Captain Kirk Hates Eve 
  • The Female of the Species
  • The Ladies of New Eden
  • EVE and the X by X Genetic Succession Unit
  • Sociability V
  • Girl on Girls in Space
  • What women want (in Eve)
  • Time Is On Our Side
  • Roc Appeal 
  • Women in EVE
  • Getting In Touch With Our Feminine Side
  • It’s a woman’s world (they just don’t know it yet!) 
  • Women in EVE – Can it be done? 
  • You’d Rather Be Playing The Sims, Right?
  • Blog Banter #17 – Women in Eve
  • How To Get The Betty’s
  • EVE: WTB girls?
  • All about EVE
  • Ladies to the gunfight
  • Hell hath no fury
  • The Ladies of New Eden (An Analysis on How Men are not from Mars, and Women are not from Venus)
  • EVE Blog Banter 17: The Ladies of New Eden 
  • The Ladies of New Eden
  • Getting ladies to play Eve Online
  • Why Don’t More Women Play EVE?? 
  • Getting Girls to Play EVE 
  • I haven’t read most of them, yet, as I didn’t want their stellar writing to influence my crap-fest.

    Fly feminine?

    -Ze